The Market Research Council Announces 2023 Hall of Fame Winners - Industry News
The Market Research Council Announces 2023 Hall of Fame Winners

The Market Research Council Announces 2023 Hall of Fame Winners

The Market Research Council (MRC), the world’s oldest market research industry body, has announced the winners of its annual Hall of Fame awards. Each year the membership of the Market Research Council nominates and votes on two distinguished researchers whom they would like to see honored for their dedication, innovation, leadership and inspiration by being inducted into the MRC Hall of Fame. These awards are coveted by the industry and recipients for the very fact that they are peer selected. Previous inductees include George Gallup, Daniel Starch, both Arthurs Nielsen, Dan Yankelovich and, more recently, Gian Fulgoni and J. Walker Smith.

This year, two giants of equal standing will join their illustrious peers from the past. Diane Hessan (pictured at left), the founder and present-day Chair of C Space will be inducted as an “active practitioner”. Reg Baker (pictured at right), most recently Executive Director of the Marketing Research Institute International (MRII) and North American Ambassador for ESOMAR, will be inducted as a ‘retired practitioner”. Both winners have had a major, positive impact on the industry that will last through many generations. They will be joined by two further award winners (Change Maker and Research Ambassador) who will be announced next week.

Diane and Reg will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 21st, 2023, at an Awards Luncheon and Ceremony to be held from 12 noon to 2.00 p.m. at Kantar’s offices at 3 World Trade Center, New York City. All are welcome (members and non-members alike) and can register for the event hereThe Market Research Council wishes to thank Kantar and Qualtrics for their gracious sponsorship of this event.


The MRC was founded in 1927 as a forum for debate and innovation in the then nascent market research industry. Membership is by invitation and is for individuals who are contributing (or have contributed) in a significant manner to the development of market research as an industry and as a profession. These include both active and retired practitioners as well as young change makers who are helping define our profession for the digital future.